The Interrogation Room – Waiting To Be Forgotten Special – Rory Costello

Next up in my series of interviews to celebrate the launch of the new Gutter Books anthology ‘Waiting To Be Forgotten: Stories of Crime and Heartbreak, Inspired by The Replacements’ is Rory Costello.

interrogation-room-replacements-rory-costello

Name: Rory Costello

Story Title: I.O.U.

Firstly, what drew you to this anthology?

I was (and am) a huge fan of ‘80s indie-rock. I’d read the Springsteen crime fiction anthology, and when I saw what Jay wrote about the vision he had, and the great guideposts that he set out, I thought, “I’d like to give this a shot.”

How did you first get into the band, and what was the first Replacements album you owned?

I was in college when the Replacements started recording, so I heard them on our college radio station. I had the chance to see the original line-up live in 1986. The first album of theirs that I owned was “Tim”. Truth be told, they weren’t top favorites of mine at the time!

How would you pitch your story to potential readers?

It features some of U.S. society’s most marginalized people, underdogs who refuse to give in despite the long odds against them.

This story aside, does music have an important influence on your fiction?

Not important, but it’s there at some level. For example, in my Alcatraz story (a little more on that below), the bad guy is loosely based on a well-known punk rock musician. I’ll leave it to readers to see if they can figure out who.

Apart from your own one – do you have any favourite stories in Waiting To Be Forgotten?

Jen Conley’s entry. She’s always so reliably good.

Do you have any additional publishing plans for the rest of 2016 and 2017?

David James Keaton accepted the entry I submitted for the Alcatraz short story collection that he conceived, “Hard Sentences”. Broken River Books (great house!) plans to release the book sometime in 2017. My story takes place just after the U.S. Civil War. We’ll see what else may arise.

Finally, if you had the opportunity to put together a music-themed anthology, which band or artist would you choose?

Nick Cave offers a lot of fertile territory.

Buy Waiting To Be Forgotten!

 

Leave a Reply

