The Interrogation Room – Waiting To Be Forgotten Special – William Boyle

Next up in my series of interviews to celebrate the launch of the new Gutter Books anthology ‘Waiting To Be Forgotten: Stories of Crime and Heartbreak, Inspired by The Replacements’ is William Boyle, author of Gravesend and Death Don’t Have No Mercy.

interrogation-room-replacements-william-boyle

Name: William Boyle

Story Title: “Unsatisfied”

Firstly, what drew you to this anthology?

The ‘Mats are my favorite band. I always want to write something that feels like their records sound. It seemed like a great challenge to build a story from one of my all-time top ten songs.

How did you first get into the band, and what was the first Replacements album you owned?

In college. My pal Mike Deuce was a big fan. He knew what I liked, and he made me listen to Let it Be and Tim while we were drinking one night. I went out and bought both records the next day.

How would you pitch your story to potential readers?

Alcoholic despair and bad decisions.

This story aside, does music have an important influence on your fiction?

Big time. It’s never not influencing me in some way. I’m listening as I work, but I’m also working songs into my stories. It’s important for me to know what my characters are listening to, what music they’ve cut their teeth on.

Apart from your own – do you have any favourite stories in Waiting To Be Forgotten?

Still reading through it. Dig Rory Costello’s and Alex Segura’s stories so far.

Do you have any additional publishing plans for the rest of 2016 and 2017?

A couple of new novels on the horizon.

Finally, if you had the opportunity to put together a music-themed anthology, which band or artist would you choose?

The Pogues.

Buy Waiting To Be Forgotten!

 

Leave a Reply

