The Interrogation Room – Waiting To Be Forgotten Special – Gorman Bechard

Next up in my series of interviews to celebrate the launch of the new Gutter Books anthology ‘Waiting To Be Forgotten: Stories of Crime and Heartbreak, Inspired by The Replacements’ is Gorman Bechard – director of the documentary ‘Color Me Obsessed: A Film About The Replacements’.

interrogation-room-replacements-gorman-bechard

Name: Gorman Bechard

Story Title: “If Only You Were Lonely”

Firstly, what drew you to this anthology?

I’ve been a Mats fan since 1983 when I saw them open for REM at a small club in New Haven.  I directed the Replacements documentary, Color Me Obsessed.  I think they are probably the greatest rock band of all time.  How could I have not been drawn to it?!

How did you first get into the band, and what was the first Replacements album you owned?

I saw them open for REM in 1983.  Hated them.  They were quite possibly the worst band I had ever seen, and we were right at the stage.  They were drunk and obnoxious.  Then a few months later I go into my local record shop and get handed what the owner thinks I’ll like this week.  The “I Will Dare” 12 inch was in the pile.  I could not believe this was the same band I saw at Toad’s Place.  So I buy “Let It Be”, and realize this was the band that was going to save rock and roll!  It was everything I looked for in a record.

How would you pitch your story to potential readers?

Sex, violence, booze, repeat.  With a femme fatale that you would die – and/or kill for – to fuck.  (Perhaps literally.)

This story aside, does music have an important influence on your fiction?

Yes, every book has a soundtrack playing as I write and rewrite.

Apart from your own one – do you have any favourite stories in Waiting To Be Forgotten?

I am honestly waiting until I can hold a real copy of the book in my hand to read the others.  Not a fan of reading on electronic devices.

Do you have any additional publishing plans for the rest of 2016 and 2017?

Yes, this anthology sort of planted a seed.  I’ve just finished a novel called “Let It Be”, in which I deconstruct the eleven songs on the record, and turn them into a collection of eleven stories, which are all linked by a central character, a young woman.  We follow her story from age 7 to 38.  The stories don’t necessarily have anything to do with the songs, but are more about how the songs make me feel.

Finally, if you had the opportunity to put together a music-themed anthology, which band or artist would you choose?  

As much as I’d like to say Wilco or Archers of Loaf, I know right now it would be Lydia Loveless.  She is the new Replacements for me.

Buy Waiting To Be Forgotten!

 

One comment

  1. Katrina Tekavec · November 24

    Great article, wish it was longer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

